Posted in Book Review, netgalley, YA

The Romantics by Leah Konen

29917071.jpg
Title: The Romantics
Author: Leah Konen
Publisher: ABRAMS Kids
Pages: 336
Source: NetGalley
Genre:  Teens & YA
Rating: 4 stars

Plot:

Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages. Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents’ painful separation. Love intervenes with the intention of setting things right—but she doesn’t anticipate the intrusion of her dreaded nemesis: the Rebound. Love’s plans for Gael are sidetracked by Cara, Gael’s hot-sauce-wielding “dream girl.” The more Love meddles, the further Gael drifts from the one girl who can help him mend his heart. Soon Love starts breaking all her own rules—and in order to set Gael’s fate back on course, she has to make some tough decisions about what it means to truly care.

This book had me on a horse  with  a dessert in the background yelling:

“Come on Gael you can do it”.

It had me swimming underwater with shark invested waters with a sign:

“Keep swimming Gael.”

It had me painting on a window in impressive mirror styles so people on the other side could read it normally:

“Do not give up on her Gael.”

Needless to say. I was cheering for the hero all the way in this book. Ladies and gentleman, I give you the young adult romance of the year.

pikachucheer

The Romantics.

My experience

This was a roller coaster of love. From being utterly depressed to one of the best adventures I’ve been on in a while this is what every broken hearted romantic needs to read.

It kicks off all sad and depressing and all you want to do is hug Gael. And cheer him on to punch everybody in the face. It just seems logical at the time. Throughout the novel, I felt myself growing to care so much for  Gael. Everything he did was hero worthy and the book was absolutely phenomenal. Exactly what I needed.

Gael has to learn how to survive love. The story is told from a third-person perspective. However every  now and then we have the narration from another one. None other than Love itself. Telling us how difficult their job is. All in all, I liked Love, a pretty interesting concept and character.

What I liked:

I really like Gael guys. I learned a lot from Gael and he climbed deep into my heart. I think Gael should be a meme for the modern young adult of 2016.

What I did not like:

The need for Love to tell me the whole time it was them who opened the window when Gael already said he could have sworn the window was closed.

Recommendations

Young adults looking for a romance comedy this one is for you. I would also recommend this book to people who have been hurt before in a relationship. This book might restore your faith in Love.

Rating:

4 Snowflakes

snowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_full

Author:

I am Snow.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s