Posted in Book Review, YA

The Weaver by Emmi Itaranta

26198181
Title: The Weaver 
Author: Emmi Itaranta
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Pages: 320
Source: Edelweiss
Genre:  Teens & YA
Rating: 2 stars

I would like to say thank you to Harper Voyager for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

I have decided to write this review in 30 minutes.

Which means. Honest. Fast. And super fast typing.

First the plot.

It goes down on an island. People have different cultures and there are some major politic issues. They live in places like The house of webs, or The house of the tainted. In this universe, it is illegal to dream. Yes, ladies and gentleman you may not dream. I mean you can have goals but those pictures that pop up in your head when it’s sleepy time, that’s a no. If you are a dreamer than you suffer from the ‘dream plague’.

If you get caught, well you know what they usually do in dystopian stories where there is a group being suppressed. They get sent to jail or worse.

Image result for gonna kill you gif

The premise was good which is why I requested it. Not allowed to dream, propaganda and confusing politics. Sold.

Image result for check please gif

However, the novel didn’t live up to what I expected. I was spun in a web of boring paragraphs. Nothing happened. 30% of the book you are just following the character walking around on the island.The chapters were filled with histories and cultures that both confused and bored me. The plot itself was spread too thin. Small events were what was driving the story and it made the time go by very slow.  At times I was rooting for the character since there were redeeming qualities. But in the end, the character was self-serving with a problem of needing to be the hero at the end of the day. The ending made a full star drop from the metaphorical shelf I was willing to give to this book. So for this book. It’s a no for me.

2 webbed snowflakes.

snowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_full

Sincerely Snow.

 

Posted in Book Review, netgalley, Snow ramblings, YA

Glitter by Aprilynne Pike

24033058
Title: Glitter
Author: Aprilynne Pike
Publisher: Random House Children’s
Pages: 380
Source: NetGalley
Genre:  Teens & YA
Rating: 2 stars

I would like to say thank you to Random House Children’s for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Deep breath.

Count to 10.

Don’t say anything if you can’t say something n… nope can’t do it I can’t do it.

This book was absolutely ridiculous.

Me while reading this book

tumblr_mx9iylKa131qe2ha5o1_500.gif

Me when I finished this book:

Annie-annie-edison-29188745-500-282.gif

giphy (13).gif

raw.gif

This was me when I realised it was 380 pages.

tenor.gif

It’s kind of hard to start.

My Experience:

It’s set in the far future but the people pretend they are living in the 20th century.

It’s about a girl who is forced against her will to marry an evil king. However, to escape she becomes a drug dealer because you know, that’s the easiest way to make money.And the the best plan she could come up with.

 Also bonus! She is not going to tell anybody she is selling drugs to them. A nice surprise to save for later when she is no longer there. So  lucky for her she won’t witness the devastating affects of her super awesome plan.*

*-Sarcasm Font-

  That’s all I can say without spoiling anything if you dare still read this after you finish my review.

Snow’s Metaphor:

It just kept getting worse. It was like one of those babushka dolls. You think you have seen it all and it has hit its lowest point then only to realise there is another doll inside that doll. And in that doll, there is another doll. It just kept getting worse.

What I liked:

I liked the beginning. The beginning was when I was a naive reader. When I thought this was going to be a good story. When I still had hopes and dreams.

Also the cover is bad-ass.

What I did not like:

How long do you have?

The main character was infuriating. She had no solid excuse for what she did. She kept grabbing at invisible straws to justify her actions but none of it made sense.

The love story happens over night. One minute they are talking the next second they are in love. I didn’t even have time to get coffee it just happened.

The characters were very confusing. I could hardly keep track of who was who and who was her friends.

The fact they were pretending to live in the 20th century made no sense.

The thing I liked the least was the ending. The ending just made me angry. It leaves you in the middle of a what just hap…..That’s how it ends. No explanations no excuses. It just ends.

Rating

2 bowing snowflakes

snowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_full

Posted in Book Review, mystery, netgalley, YA

Weregirl by C.D. Bell

There was this element of majesty and danger that surrounded the story like an eery shadow. I couldn’t get enough of it.

Title: Weregirl
Author: C.D. Bell
Publisher: Chooseco
Pages: 400
Source: NetGalley
Genre: Children’s Fiction, Teens & YA
Rating: 4 stars
weregirl.jpg

Let’s go through the checklist.

Good plot. Check.

Good character. Check..

Excellent story development. Check.

Beautiful metaphors or style of writing. Check.

Love story. Check.

Should you read it? Check!

Plot:

Eager to escape her small hometown, high school junior Nessa Kurland is focused on winning a college scholarship for cross-country running. A chance encounter with a trapped wolf while out on a run leads to powerful and frightening changes, and one day, Nessa is transformed into a full werewolf. Now Nessa must navigate the challenges of high school while coming face to face with true human darkness, as she tries to make peace with her new wild nature

My experience

Enter Nessa.

Nessa runs, runs and oh yea, runs. Her dream is to go to college. Her ticket of getting there depends on if she can run fast enough. Nessa is trying to get a scholarship for cross-country running. However, one night when she is running in the woods something goes terribly wrong something that will alter her life forever.

*dramatic music*

giphy

Reading this book was like watching the rain fall on a lazy day. Absolute bliss.

I love books with wolfs. Always have probably always will. This book stands tall on my “favourite-young-adult-werewolf-books” shelf.

Metaphor:

This book is just cool. It’s like that kid that just moved from a different city. Their dad is a rockstar and their mom is a supermodel they wear the latest fashion trend they are friendly and just cool. You want to read the book and get to know the new kid. You try and not seem too eager but let’s get real you want to be best friends and you already ordered the “We are best friends” t-shirts.

One of the ways how I measure whether I enjoyed the story is if I remember the time it took to finish it. If I don’t remember it taking long you can bet I enjoyed the story very much. This book was 400 pages and I am shocked because to me it felt like a 100.

Snow thoroughly enjoyed this book.

tumblr_o0z1hfujod1qkvj4lo1_500

What I liked:

I loved the story. It was a really good story. Something you could really get into and the characters was very real.  It was easy to get to know them and it kept you on edge. There was this element of majesty and danger that surrounded the story like an eery shadow. I couldn’t get enough of it.

What I did not like:

Okay, wait. This is not a flaw in the book on the contrary. But it is something I didn’t like. The ending was a bit brutal. That’s all I can say. It fit the story perfectly. You don’t have to like an ending to love it. Which is confusing but sounds profound so I’m sticking with it.

Rating

4 howling snowflakes

snowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_full

Posted in Book Review, netgalley, YA

The Romantics by Leah Konen

29917071.jpg
Title: The Romantics
Author: Leah Konen
Publisher: ABRAMS Kids
Pages: 336
Source: NetGalley
Genre:  Teens & YA
Rating: 4 stars

Plot:

Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages. Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents’ painful separation. Love intervenes with the intention of setting things right—but she doesn’t anticipate the intrusion of her dreaded nemesis: the Rebound. Love’s plans for Gael are sidetracked by Cara, Gael’s hot-sauce-wielding “dream girl.” The more Love meddles, the further Gael drifts from the one girl who can help him mend his heart. Soon Love starts breaking all her own rules—and in order to set Gael’s fate back on course, she has to make some tough decisions about what it means to truly care.

This book had me on a horse  with  a dessert in the background yelling:

“Come on Gael you can do it”.

It had me swimming underwater with shark invested waters with a sign:

“Keep swimming Gael.”

It had me painting on a window in impressive mirror styles so people on the other side could read it normally:

“Do not give up on her Gael.”

Needless to say. I was cheering for the hero all the way in this book. Ladies and gentleman, I give you the young adult romance of the year.

pikachucheer

The Romantics.

My experience

This was a roller coaster of love. From being utterly depressed to one of the best adventures I’ve been on in a while this is what every broken hearted romantic needs to read.

It kicks off all sad and depressing and all you want to do is hug Gael. And cheer him on to punch everybody in the face. It just seems logical at the time. Throughout the novel, I felt myself growing to care so much for  Gael. Everything he did was hero worthy and the book was absolutely phenomenal. Exactly what I needed.

Gael has to learn how to survive love. The story is told from a third-person perspective. However every  now and then we have the narration from another one. None other than Love itself. Telling us how difficult their job is. All in all, I liked Love, a pretty interesting concept and character.

What I liked:

I really like Gael guys. I learned a lot from Gael and he climbed deep into my heart. I think Gael should be a meme for the modern young adult of 2016.

What I did not like:

The need for Love to tell me the whole time it was them who opened the window when Gael already said he could have sworn the window was closed.

Recommendations

Young adults looking for a romance comedy this one is for you. I would also recommend this book to people who have been hurt before in a relationship. This book might restore your faith in Love.

Rating:

4 Snowflakes

snowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_full