Posted in 5 stars, Book Review, netgalley, YA

Blame Simon Mayo

“They used to blame black people, refugees, Jews, immigrants, whoever. Then they ran out of people to point fingers at. So now it’s us.”

28248382.jpg

Title: Blame
Author: Simon Mayo
Publisher: Penguin Random House UK Children’s
Pages: 480
Source: Netgalley
Genre: Juvenal Fiction, Young Adult , Contemporary
Rating: 5

 

I would just like to say a massive thank you to Penguin Random House UK Children’s 
for providing me with an ARC of this book through NetGalley. 
Plot:
Your past is your future.

Humans always need a scapegoat. Humans need someone to blame. Welcome to the world where they ran out of people to blame. I mean, there are people to blame but the criminals are either dead or long gone below the grid. So what good is that? Oh wait, what if the criminals they blamed had a family. And they put the blame on them? That could work? Right?

That’s the situation in which Ant finds herself – together with her little brother Mattie and their foster-parents, she’s locked up in a new kind of family prison. None of the inmates are themselves criminals, but wider society wants them to do time for the unpunished ‘heritage’ crimes of their parents.

Tensions are bubbling inside the London prison network Ant and Mattie call home – and when things finally erupt, they realize they’ve got one chance to break out. Everyone wants to see them punished for the sins of their mum and dad, but it’s time for Ant to show the world that they’re not to blame.

 

Someone has to pay. Someone always has to pay.

*Dramatic music*

zxwifho

 

My Experience:

 

 When I read the words prison and kids being in jail for their parent’s crimes. I was sold. I wanted to read the book. No, I needed to read this. I immediately marked it as desperate-to-read on my Goodreads shelf and a request for an ARC was swiftly traveling from my cave. It felt like Christmas had come early when I saw my ARC request had been approved!

This was the first book I read of Simon Mayo. But I had a gut feeling, even before I started digging into the pages, that it would not be my last.

As I finished the first few pages I could feel my hands being cuffed to this book. I was not going to put this book down and it was not going to let me. I was perfectly fine with that.

Meet The Giver, Animal Farm , Hunger Games and whatever you can think of pushed into one orange novel.

You might not be aware of this dear reader, but I love stories with propaganda. The more subtle the brainwash the more excited I become. The angrier I can get with books, the happier I am.

Raging at book politics are one of my favourite hobbies.

anchorman-i-dont-know-what

 

 

Oh, how I loved this book. I salute you Sir Simon. Orange is indeed the new blame. The brainwashing, scapegoating, corruption , justice and revenge.

After this book, you will just want to pick up a pitchfork and a hashtag and cause riots! #notToBlame #goosegirl

Quotes:

‘There are those living among us,’ he said, partly to the camera, partly to the unseen audience, ‘who have come to feel that they are above the law. A culture of impunity has developed whereby they think they can get away with their crimes.’He pauses his lips pressed tightly together.  The audience waited. ‘And they are right – they can get away with it.  At the moment. For now.’

 

Day 0
We owe you:
1 football
4 hats
5 bus fares
You owe us:
Everything

 

What I liked:

I loved the little bits we get to read written from Mattie’s perspective. It gives you a much better insight into who he is and makes you that more fond of him.

What I did not like:

It’s always so hard to do this when I give a book 5 stars.

Sigh, give me a few minutes.

I suppose the one thing I would have liked more is a bit more about their life before they went to their foster parents. If you have not read this book this passage might seem a bit confusing since I’m going to censor it to keep it spoiler free. I know some details were given in the flashbacks about their real parents and history. But the fact that they had certain ahem “skills” the how they had them was a bit of a mystery to me. A valid reason is given for why they have them. For me, it’s more about the how they acquired them since it goes against their characters  a bit for me? So I would have liked a flashback there. That is one little critique I have.

Recommendations:

Fans of Dystopian books such as Divergent, Hunger Games, this one will fit in your shelf nicely.

This is for everybody older than 13, I believe. I would strongly recommend you get this if you love prison break stories and the dystopian genre.

Rating:

I give this 5 strutting snowflakes.

 

snowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_full

 

 

 

~Sincerely Snow

 

 

Author:

I am Snow.

Leave a Reply

