Posted in Book Review, mystery, Thriller, Uncategorized

My Girl by Jack Jordan

 

30109213.jpg
Title: My Girl
Author: Jack Jordan
Publisher: JJP
Pages: 135
Source: NetGalley
Genre: Mystery & Thrillers, General Fiction (Adult)
Rating: 3
I received an ARC from Netgalley via JJP for an honest review.

Honestly, what did I just read? I feel disturbed.

tumblr_lxugflksbm1qa9ojjo1_500

Plot:

Paige Dawson: the mother of a murdered child and wife to a dead man.

She has nothing left to live for… until she finds her husband’s handgun hidden in their house.

Why did Ryan need a gun? What did he know about their daughter’s death?

Desperate for the truth, Paige begins to unearth her husband’s secrets.

But she has no idea who she is up against, or that her life isn’t hers to gamble – she belongs to me.

My Experience:

Well, I would first like to give praise to the book blurb. That is one fantastic book blurb.

You start the story with a mourning widow/mother. She has gone through more horrors than anyone ever should have to go through. She drowns her sorrow in wine and drugs and tries to just survive each day.

This book is not for the sensitive souls. I did not know it would be this disturbing when I initially requested the ARC. It’s a fast read and easy to finish in one setting.

Some forbidden elements are explored in this book.

You get mystery, thriller , horror and utter suspense.

It’s not a bad thriller. I compare this book to the likes of Room. It’s a faster read though and almost too much happens to process.
If you are a writer you might have heard this quote on how to start a novel.

Act One: Get Character Up a Tree.
Act Two: Throw Rocks.
Act Three: Get Character Down.

Basically, this author is really passionate about throwing rocks at his characters.

Here I am in a small boat and I believe I’m on a lake. Oh wait, turns out I am actually in the ocean. Did I forget to mention I’m surrounded by sharks? Oh! Don’t forget the massive storm that just broke out. Wait something good is happening, nope my engine just broke. My food ran out. I see civilization. I’m saved. Yay!

That’s how I experienced the novel. A lot of bad and then boom happy ending, well sorta.

Recommendations:

I would only recommend this to ages 18 and up. There are honestly sick scenes there is no other way to explain it. So if that’s your cup of tea then boil the kettle this book is for you.

What I liked:

I like how the book makes you doubt who to believe and whom to trust.

What I did not like:

A few of the scenes seemed very rushed.

There are a few details that do not make sense to me about the story. That might be characters flaws above anything else but it made the book less believable.

Rating:

I never know how to rate these books. Should I rate it very high because it disturbed me or should I rate it low because it disturbed me?

I think am just going to go with 3?

Yea, 3.

snowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_full

 

 

 

~Sincerely Snow

Author:

I am Snow.

Leave a Reply

