Posted in Book Review

The Darkest Lie by Pintip Dunn

 

26020141

Title: The Darkest Lie
Author: Pintip Dunn
Publisher: Kensington Books
Pages: 287
Source: Netgalley
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Young Adult, Contemporary
Rating: 3.5
I received an ARC from Netgalley via Kensington Books for an honest review.  


Trigger warning: 

Suicide.

The plot:

“The mother I knew would never do those things.
But maybe I never knew her after all.”

Clothes, jokes, coded messages…Cecilia Brooks and her mom shared everything. At least, CeCe thought they did. Six months ago, her mom killed herself after accusations of having sex with a student, and CeCe’s been the subject of whispers and taunts ever since. Now, at the start of her high school senior year, between dealing with her grieving, distracted father, and the social nightmare that has become her life, CeCe just wants to fly under the radar. Instead, she’s volunteering at the school’s crisis hotline—the same place her mother worked.

As she counsels troubled strangers, CeCe’s lingering suspicions about her mom’s death surface. With the help of Sam, a new student and newspaper intern, she starts to piece together fragmented clues that point to a twisted secret at the heart of her community. Soon, finding the truth isn’t just a matter of restoring her mother’s reputation, it’s about saving lives—including CeCe’s own…

My Experience:

Honestly,

Sheppard-Impressed-Gif.gif

I quite liked it.

It was a good story and there was a real mystery. It was unpredictable and you couldn’t quite place your finger on what was going on. I just love it when a story is telling me something that I want to know. But I don’t know it yet and it’s not telling me until it’s absolutely necessary.

You follow the journey of Cece a young girl who not only has to deal with the fact that her mom committed suicide but also deal with the scandal she left the family with.

I felt myself being swept along with the chase to find the truth behind the events of Cece’s mom. The events of Cece’s mom’s death was so scandalous it seemed almost too ridiculous so this story could have easily had been just too much. But the author knew what they were doing and I would like to give them credit for keeping the story so well-balanced. In the middle, it became a bit too chewy for my taste. Too much talking not enough actions. I felt the characters dialogue starting to fail and just as I was about to give up hope everything changed. I couldn’t put the book down. It didn’t matter that it wasn’t the best writing style or the most unusual characters because the story was interesting.

The story had me genuinely curious and I could not have stopped reading. I needed to know what happened in the end and the origin of all the chaos. The ending was done very well. It made me forgive the mistakes I felt myself getting annoyed with earlier on. The ending had me smiling and I would gladly recommend this book to young adult fiction fans.

I think this book is one to look out for and that this can become a possible favourite among young adult thrillers. Prepare for an explosion of chaos, love and heartbreak.

What I did not like:

I will let the book explain itself.

“Sounds a little over-the-top to me. But maybe I’ve never been in love.”

Don’t you just love it when a book has a quote you can use in your review?

Ahem. Where was I. Oh yes, sigh, love…

That’s basically one of the annoyances I had with the book but the romantics might love it. I’m hard to impress when it comes to love what can I say. Chocolates and flowers won’t do for Snow. Nor stick figures asking each other out for pizza.

The other thing was the constant noise in Cece’s ears. I guess she has very sensitive ears hearing the ocean permanently and all that. I know it was used for dramatic effect but I felt like it was a bit overused.

 

Recommendations:

I recommend this book to all of those that are fans of the Young Adult genre. This will give you thrill , heartbreak and just a little bit of love to keep you going.

Rating:

In the end, I felt like I had quite the journey with this book and we part as friends. I give this book 3 and a half jingly snowflakes.

snowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_fullsnowflake_edit_first_halfsnowflake_edit_full

~ Sincerely Snow

Author:

I am Snow.

Leave a Reply

