Posted in 5 stars, Book Review, War, YA

Front Lines by Michael Grant

 

18743370

Series: Book #1
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 548
Source: I own the book.
Genre: Historical Fiction, Young Adult , War
Rating: 5
I would just like to say a massive thank you to the publisher for
sending me a copy of Front Lines.

The introduction for the book kicked me in the heart with a big army boot. Goosebumps exploded like a swarm of ants over my body. The intense statements of the introduction made me shiver. I knew this was going to be one hell of a ride.

The plot:

1942. World War II. The most terrible war in human history. Millions are dead; millions more are still to die. The Nazis rampage across Europe and eye far-off America.

The green, untested American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled—the armed forces of Nazi Germany.

But something has changed. A court decision makes females subject to the draft and eligible for service. So in this World War II, women and girls fight, too.

As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering. Not one expects to see actual combat. Not one expects to be on the front lines.

Rio, Frangie, and Rainy will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the human race. They will fear and they will rage; they will suffer and they will inflict suffering; they will hate and they will love. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known.

New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant has created a masterful alternate history of World War II in Front Lines, the first volume in a groundbreaking series.

My experience:

Join the army. They need you but they don’t necessarily want you.

It’s in the age where sexism is manifested in every corner and racism is part of the oxygen. Follow the journey of 3 very strong soldiers: Rainy, Rio, and Frangie.

I will kick this review off by using a quote from Stephen king:

CksKPfHUUAA_awD

If there is one book that hid its treasures throughout the entire book, keeping you on edge the entire time, it is this masterpiece.

Every time I had to put the book down I felt like I was missing out. My heart would start to race with guilt if I had to put it down in an intense scene.  I would feel as if I was keeping the characters in an uncomfortable position by leaving them there. And if I could just continue to read than I would be helping them get out of whatever situation they were to be found in. 

Everything I loved about this book:

The dialogue:

I loved the replacements for the swear words. The authenticity of the racial slurs without it seeming over dramatic. One issue I usually have when reading books with racist characters is that the derogatory terms and condescension will be too over the top. This is done to make the reader realize that this character, is in fact, a big ugly racist that you must not like. Not Michael Grant, with the description of a look from one white officer to a black officer you could feel the hatred and history between them. However, whether the character is racist or sexist there might still be something likable about them. That is something that only a true storyteller can do. They are able to create hateful characters  yet leave it up to the reader to decide whether they want to like or dislike the characters.

Background characters are not just the background characters:

During this story, you would expect crowds, workers and maybe a person who hands over the uniforms. You would not however, expect to remember the person that hands over the clothes. Because that person is there to just fill a role right? Wrong! It is a character that is placed there and there will be something you will be able to remember about them. Even if it was just a woman who handed over a uniform. This reminds me of what they say about having only one line in a production and that,that line can make you famous.

 

You root for the characters:

You aren’t just sitting on the sidelines with a poster of your favourite character’s name surrounded by hearts and  a “Follow me on Twitter” slogan. You are running next to them. You are pulling them through the mud. You are willing to carry them through the scorching heat and mosquitos as long as they don’t give up. Their fight becomes your fight. As long as they have the will to keep on fighting, you will be able to keep on fighting. No matter the circumstances, no matter how badly they are treated or underestimated for being mere women in a man’s army. No matter the hell they go through as long as they can keep preserving and surviving you know that you will also be able to keep fighting. You will be able to handle what you are going through and survive the labels or bad treatment.

It gave me hope:

This book reminded me of the inner strength humans possess to prevail and to survive. Sometimes we lose a battle but that doesn’t mean we lose the war. These characters were already in my heart before I was halfway through the book. I will remember them and I will carry their strength with me as reminders that there are people like them fighting everyday but never giving up.

I am waiting very impatiently for the next book in this series. You can bet I will be one of the first in line for a copy.

 

Quotes:

“No smoking, no drinking, no fraternizing with the opposite sex, those are the rules. So naturally we smoke, drink, and fraternize most evenings.”

“Under a chilly sun Rio and Jenou take the air, straining every nerve to ignore the incessant catcalls and lewd entreaties of male soldiers.”

 

What I liked:

I loved how the character I disliked the most became my favourite character by the end of this book.

Only Michael Grant, ladies and gentleman. Only Michael Grant.

 

What I did not like:

If I have to think of one thing it would be of Rio not remembering or not being constantly reminded by the loss her family has suffered. I feel there was a sense of grief missing but maybe I get proven wrong in the next book since Rio is an enigma and completely unpredictable.

 

Recommendations:

I recommend this to everybody.

This is a book that everybody needs to read. It teaches you important lessons without you realising its teaching you important life lessons.

Anybody who loves war stories, this is for you.

Anybody who loves alternate history, this is for you.

Anybody who loves Young Adult this is for you.

Anybody.. this is for you.

20160619_185635.jpg20160619_185336.jpg

Rating:

5 FUBAR snowflakes.

Snowflake-Clipart-Transparent-Background.jpgSnowflake-Clipart-Transparent-Background.jpgSnowflake-Clipart-Transparent-Background.jpgSnowflake-Clipart-Transparent-Background.jpg

Snowflake-Clipart-Transparent-Background.jpg

*Exclusive interview coming soon*

 

 

~Sincerely Snow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

I am Snow.

One thought on “Front Lines by Michael Grant

Leave a Reply

