Posted in Book Review, mystery, netgalley

ARC Review: How to Disappear by Ann Redisch Stampler

27206481.jpg

Title: How to Disappear
Author: Ann Redisch Stampler
Publisher: Simon and Schuster Children’s Publishing
Pages: 308
Source: NetGalley
Genre: Teens & YA , Abuse
Rating:2.5
Sigh.
The plot:

Nicolette Holland is the girl everyone likes. Up for adventure. Loyal to a fault. And she’s pretty sure she can get away with anything…until a young woman is brutally murdered in the woods near Nicolette’s house. Which is why she has to disappear.

Jack Manx has always been the stand-up guy with the killer last name. But straight A’s and athletic trophies can’t make people forget that his father was a hit man and his brother is doing time for armed assault. Just when Jack is about to graduate from his Las Vegas high school and head east for college, his brother pulls him into the family business with inescapable instructions: find this ruthless Nicolette Holland and get rid of her. Or else Jack and everyone he loves will pay the price.

My Experience
I’m going to try and write a review here without spoiling anything. Not that there is much to spoil…
Okay, so I’m going to explain why I did not like this novel but before I do that let me just say that I do believe that this might become a favourite amongst YA fans. It has all the elements to theoretically make this novel the perfect YA thriller. Romance, action, humour and suspense.
However, I Snow, am a massive fan of mystery and thriller and maybe it’s because I’ve read so many great thrillers that this book did not tickle my taste buds. Let us stop diddly-daddling the review will commence now.

So basically it’s about a girl Cat, I mean Nick I mean Nicolette who is running away when a murder is committed in her town and about a guy James, I mean J, I mean Jack.  Who needs to find her soon. My initial interest was that this was going to be a cat and mouse type of plot. The one trying to outsmart the other you know Sherlock VS Moriarty, Scar VS Mufasa. That was not what happened. It was more a Spongebob VS Patrick kind of vibe. Jolly enough character but not the sharpest tools in the shed.

I initially really liked Jack Manx. Jack has always been judged because he has the surname of a man who used to be the biggest criminal around. Jack is not a criminal he just wants to quote poetry especially Robert Frost. His brother drags him into this business when the ones he loves is threatened. That is how this very smart 18-year-old goes on this not so smart adventure.

What I liked in the beginning, was how awkward Jack and Nicolette both were. Here are these two normal teenagers, one who has to disappear and one who has to find the one who has to disappear. I kind of imagine that this is how I would be if for any reason ever I had to go on a mission. Just very awkward and not knowing how or what to do.

I feel that the characters were weak. They didn’t have a real drive in them. At best Nicolette was just confusing. She would have this hell bent attitude on surviving then the first guy who winks at her has her in a puddle of jelly? I don’t like it when characters fall in love immediately. I will refer to this one as a takeaway romance. “Ya want extra cheese with that line?”

At first, it was like walking on a chilly road not knowing what to expect and there was this element of danger which I liked but all too soon the snow melted and the landscape turned out to be a field. The most exciting thing was maybe passing the occasional cow chowing on some grass.

For me, the most interesting and put together character was Liv I mean Oliva.

What I liked:

I liked the different fonts for the two perceptions.

The cover is awesome.

What I did not like:

The obsession with the Robert Frost poem. There is more than one poem in this world!

Recommendations:

I recommend this to fans of the YA genre. If you eat and breath young adult novels then go for it. If you are very critical of character development and romance then maybe give this one a skip.

Rating:

2.5 snowflakes. The ending was a little bit unpredictable so it gets a little extra snowflake.

Overall this was not my favourite book.

 

 

.

Author:

I am Snow.

Leave a Reply

